Performers of Westchester
  Contribute   View Cart

Michael Mermagen

Michael Mermagen

No upcoming performance this season

Cellist MICHAEL MERMAGEN is an associate professor of cello and chamber music at Benjamin T. Rome School of Music at The Catholic University of America and faculty member of The Aspen Music Festival. He regularly presents recitals and masterclasses across North America, Europe and Asia, and and has appeared as soloist in the Brahms Double Concerto with violinist Livia Sohn and the Stockton Symphony, and the Beethoven Triple Concerto with Elisabeth Adkins, Edward Newman and the Fairfax Symphony. He has performed chamber music with artists including Joshua Bell, Sarah Chang, Lynn Harrell, Robert McDuffie, Susanne Mentzer, Nadja Salerno-Sonnenberg, and The Takács Quartet, and has toured regularly with the Aspen Ensemble, American Chamber Players, and Arista Piano Trio, named Chamber Music America’s Artists to Watch. He has collaborated with the San Francisco Ballet and was featured as the cello soloist for the New York premiere of two works by the renowned choreographer Mark Morris. He currently enjoys performing with Jody Gatwood and pianist Marilyn Neeley of the Rome Trio, resident ensemble of The Catholic University of America.

Having made his debut at the age of sixteen with Baltimore Symphony Orchestra after receiving its Young Soloist’s Award, Mr. Mermagen studied at the Peabody Conservatory with Paula Skolnick-Childress, Mihaly Virizlay and Stephen Kates. He continued his graduate studies at The Juilliard School with Zara Nelsova. As winner of the Juilliard concerto competition, he performed with the Juilliard Orchestra under Otto-Werner Mueller in Alice Tully Hall. He has also appeared as soloist with the National Orchestra of New York, where he held the prestigious Emanuel Feuermann principal cello chair. He currently plays on a Nicolo Gagliano cello, Naples, 1774.

Related performances :
Friday, October 17, 2014, 6:30 PM
Sunday, October 19, 2014, 4:00 PM

website next


a site by Jung Lin ©2012 - 2019